The Unknown Ghosts

Played it last night

Hi yall... its been a while!

I always said i would be back when flashpoint was launched and i am a man of my word, a very lucky man who got his copy of Flashpoint 2 DR 3 days early thanks to shop 2 . net and maybe having had a preorder placed for about a year helped.

Well i took a flipping long time to install and i was like a small child on Christmas eve i had been hoping for the last 2-3 years this game would be the new battlefield 2.....

Its not... (well not yet anyway)

First of all the menu system, its all very pretty and makes cool swooshing noises ( but there is an amazingly annoying track that plays of what can only be described as someone using mouthwash while being garroted) i did got a bit annoyed that it took me more than a few seconds to go from one menu to another (and there are lots of menus) it all seems a bit over engineered im pretty old school and would have been happy with a simple black and white text list lol, but if they put that much effort into the menus then the game must be very well refined and polished... right....

Wrong...

The single player campaign starts (as any good shooter should) very dramatically and with a good sense of realism. the first thing you notice is how slow every thing feel compared to COD changing weapons, changing stance etc... which is what you would expect from a less arcade like sim, the animations are very good and the running, walking, crawling and general movement feel is a bit similar to GR your hear rate increases when you run and you get tired out you cant jump and there are good splatter effects as bullets hit near you or your buddys blood splatters across your screen eeewwwww. in fact the best part of the game so far for me is the feeling of immersion and... well .... fear… fear of sticking your head up incase it gets blown off, bullets that are close to you whistle and crack past and richochet off things next to you.